Broadcast Date: December 8, 2022
Time: 08:00 am PT, 11:00 am ET, 17:00 CET

Genetic Medicine has moved to the forefront of health care throughout the world, yet access to quality genetic care is unequally distributed across the country. Most genetic centers are based in large academic institutions leaving rural communities underserved, creating inequalities to access. A genetic diagnosis is increasingly becoming key to patient care, in some cases with life-altering or lifesaving effects. Providing families with genetic care close to home poses extraordinary challenges in Montana; the 4th largest state with 76% of its population living in rural and frontier areas.

In this Inside Precision Medicine Webinar our distinguished speaker, Dr. Abdallah Elias will tell us about the innovative model that he oversees at Shodair Children’s Hospital. The Genetics Department at Shodair Children’s Hospital stands unique in the United States as a provider of comprehensive clinical and laboratory genetic services to rural, frontier and largely underserved regions. Without these services, families struggling with genetic conditions would regularly have to travel long distances to academic centers in Washington, Utah, or Colorado.

A live Q&A followed the presentation, offering a chance to pose questions to our expert panelist.

Abdallah Elias, MD
Chief Medical Officer, Genetics, Shodair Children’s Hospital
Adjunct Associate Professor in Pediatrics, University of Utah

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.