Broadcast Date: February 13, 2024
Time: 10:00 am PT, 1:00 pm ET, 19:00 CET

Alzheimer’s disease (AD) diagnostics have come a long way from the days of positron emission tomography scans and magnetic resonance imaging. While brain imaging remains an important part of the diagnostic process, advances in omics technologies and computational capabilities have made it possible to test for molecular markers of AD such as amyloid-beta isoform 42 and phosphorylated tau found in cerebrospinal fluid. But progress does not stop there. The next step in the evolution of AD research is identifying noninvasive or minimally invasive molecular markers that can be readily extracted from bodily fluids like blood, plasma, serum, urine, and saliva. These are the markers that will serve as the foundation for the development of the next generation of highly accurate diagnostic methodologies for AD detection and monitoring.

In this Inside Precision Medicine webinar, Dr. Andrew Liu and Dr. Blaine R. Roberts will discuss the history of AD biomarker research and offer insights into where the field is headed next. You’ll learn about the historical milestones that have shaped the current understanding of this neurodegenerative disorder, and the broader implications for cognitive health. The speakers will also discuss the transformative role of emerging biomarkers like plasma p-Tau181 and p-Tau 217 in the early detection, prognosis, and ongoing monitoring of AD, and their potential application in clinical contexts.

A live Q&A session will follow the presentations, offering a chance to pose questions to our expert panelists.

Andy Liu, MD
Assistant Professor in Neurology and Pathology at Duke University
Director of Biomarker Discovery at Duke University’s Department of Neurology
Duke University

Blaine Roberts, PhD
Professor at the Emory University in the Departments of Biochemistry and Neurology
Emory University

Also of Interest